Blog Envy

I have a blogroll in the corner as you can see. They are all witty, intelligent, thought provoking, and funny mom blogs. I read them everyday, and wouldn’t give them up.

My issue is envy. They are popular, funny, charming. All things that I aspire to be. I’m not jealous in the sense that “I wish I were them” or “I want their lives, mine sucks” way. It’s in that “I wish i were that funny, witty, etc” way. I try, but somehow, no matter how funny it seems in my head, it always falls flat. Maybe I’ll grasp it in time. Somehow I doubt it. I really didn’t start this to be popular or anything. I started it for me and a few friends. But for some reason, I do envy them. They have that awesomeness that I lack. But such is life, and this too shall pass.

I’m off to read the greatness that they are.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blog Envy

  1. VegasDad says:

    Be confident. Give it time and you’ll suddenly be on a bunch of blogrolls and read by dozens, if not hundreds of regular readers. I had my first blog for over a year before it was noticed. That is until I started reading others and commenting regularly. It’s a way to introduce yourself. Good luck.

  2. MsDarkstar says:

    I’m surprised to see myself on a blogroll containing mostly mommy blogs but… I’m happy to be here! My friend often refers to his “tens of fans”…

    Building a following in the blogosphere takes time. Hang in and just enjoy blogging!

  3. Oh, The Joys says:

    Little do you know… my site gets a lot of visits through links from YOUR site. Maybe you’re more popular than you know!

  4. fearandparentinginlasvegas says:

    Aww thanks honey. I’m honored to be on your blogroll. My advice for building your readership…
    1)Write about whatever you’re passionate about. The interesting and compelling stories will come in your own voice.
    2) Build community. Participate in twitter, plurk, facebook, etc. but don’t just dive bomb and run. Become a part of the story. Build relationships and your blog will become more about people than numbers.

Leave a Reply

