It never ends

Just when things look up, suddenly shit starts falling in your face. Sorry I am a bit pessimistic these days, Thought I had worked enough for unemployment, and apparently I didn’t. The hubby was supposed to go back to work after being out injured all summer. That lasted 3 days before his knee went totally kaput.  Now they are talking knee replacement. He won’t be able to do his job. He’s a mechanic, and he won’t be able to do all the standing and bending if they replace it. So while we are waiting to see what they want to do, he’s trying to decide what he wants as a career. I don’t know how this is going to work. He’s always been a mechanic. It’s all he knows. He grew up in a garage. Spent his whole life in one. Now they are saying that he probably won’t be able to do it anymore.  It’s driving me nuts. I can’t do anything to make him feel better no matter what. I don’t like that feeling.

The biggest problem is income. He isn’t able to do anything. He can barely make it to the bathroom alone. He can’t walk more than a few steps. That being said, that means that I can’t go to work either. He can’t be left to fend for himself, because he just can’t.  I am at a total loss as to what to do. I guess it’ll figure itself out soon enough. Of course by that time I could be living in a cardboard box, but hey…..shit happens right???

If you read this, I apologize. The total rambling probably got to you. But this is my train of thought these days. I can’t even decipher it anymore.

 

Have a wonderful whatever 🙂

This entry was posted in life in general. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It never ends

  1. MsDarkstar says:

    I know it looks pretty dark at the moment, but there is a good chance your hubs will qualify for some sort of re-training if he cannot do the job he’s always done. In the meantime, it might not be a bad idea to start to apply for Social Security Disability for him. It pretty much always gets rejected once and may get them to say “but… he qualifies for X or Y program so he could still work”.

    Unemployment (at least where I am) goes by a certain “base period” (usually 4 calendar months). I know they are not the most cooperative bunch, but badger them until someone explains when you WILL be eligible.

    Take care and hang in. I know, I know, easy to say. Check into SSDI, though…that might at least point you to some programs where there could be some help.

  2. alitlmonkee says:

    I don’t even know what to say except that sucks. Sending big hugs your way and hoping thins turn around quickly.

Leave a Reply

